Canadian Society for the Study of Names

Meeting of the Canadian Society for the Study of Names


Meeting of the Canadian Society

for the Study of Names


Ryerson University (Toronto, Ontario) 2017

Congress Theme: The Next 150, On Indigenous Lands


The Society is a member of the Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences (CFHSS or FedCan) and traditionally holds its annual meeting in conjunction with the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences (formerly the Learned Societies). At the meeting, members may present papers in formal theme sessions, participate in a toponymic fieldtrip and attend the annual general meeting of the Society.

In 2017, the CSSN will meet as part of the Congress of the Humanites and Social Sciences to be held at Ryerson University, Toronto, Ontario, May 27 – June 2.


                                            Future sites of the annual congresses:
                                           May 27-June 2, 2017 Ryerson University.
                                           May 26-June 1, 2018 University of Regina
   June 1 - 7, 2019, 2019 University of British Columbia




Call for papers

Form   [Word File]


 Please send your paper proposal abstract 

to arrive by Friday, February 8th, 2017 to 

Sheila Embleton


Meetings of the Canadian Society for the Study of Names

2016 Calgary University of Calgary
2015 Ottawa University of Ottawa
2014 St. Catharines Brock University
2013 Victoria University of Victoria
2012 Waterloo Wilfrid Laurier Univ./University of Waterloo
2011 Fredericton U. of New Brunswick/St. Thomas University
2010 Montréal Concordia University
2009 Ottawa Carleton University
2008 ICOS* … Toronto York University
2007 Saskatoon University of Saskatchewan
2006 Toronto York University
2005 London University of Western Ontario
2004 Winnipeg University of Manitoba
2003 Halifax Dalhousie University
2002 Toronto University of Toronto/Ryerson University
2001 Québec Laval University
2000 Edmonton University of Alberta
1999 Sherbrooke/Lennoxville U. of Sherbrooke/Bishop's University
1998 Ottawa University of Ottawa
1997 St. John’s Memorial University
1996 St. Catharines Brock University
1995 Montréal University of Quebec at Montréal
1994 Calgary University of Calgary
1993 Ottawa Carleton University
1992 Charlottetown University of Prince Edward Island
1991 Kingston Queen's University
1990 Victoria University of Victoria
1989 Québec Laval University
1988 Windsor University of Windsor
1987 ICOS ... Québec Laval University
1986 Winnipeg University of Manitoba
1985 Montréal University of Montréal
1984 Guelph University of Guelph
1983 Vancouver University of British Columbia
1982 Ottawa University of Ottawa
1981 ICOS … Ann Arbor, MI University of Michigan
1980 Montréal University of Quebec at Montréal
1979 Saskatoon University of Saskatchewan
1978 London University of Western Ontario
1977 Fredericton University of New Brunswick
1976 Québec Laval University
1975 Edmonton University of Alberta
1974 Toronto University of Toronto
1973 Kingston Queen's University
1972 Montréal McGill University
1971 St. John’s Memorial University
1970 Winnipeg University of Manitoba
1969 Toronto York University
1968 Calgary University of Calgary
1967 Ottawa Carleton University
  * ICOS = International Congress of Onomastic Sciences / Congrès international des sciences onomastiques


 Home > 


   < Français >